John's Blog

head_left_image

Look ma, I built a fort (Inspection Photo)!

I always recommend to have a licensed contractor do the work and to ensure that additions are permitted...  Otherwise it may end up looking like this.

Comment balloon 11 commentsJohn LaRocca • February 10 2010 01:56PM

Comments

Thats nice! I love the rustic look its a big seller. LOL Having a builder do the work prevents so many problems.

Posted by Chip Jefferson (Gibbs Realty and Auction Company) almost 8 years ago

John, that is a really cool fort. Do you think the kids that built it have a secret password to get in?

Posted by Malcolm Johnston, Trenton Real Estate (Century 21 Lanthorn Real Estate LTD., Trenton, Ontario) almost 8 years ago

So that's where the Weed is grown!

Posted by Travis Newton, FHA, USDA, VA, LOAN EXPERT - Salem OR Homes For Heroes SALEM OREGON (Salem and Bend Oregon FHA, VA & USDA 503.931.4490) almost 8 years ago

That's funny and tragic at the same time. I've seen this guys work before!

Posted by Douglas Lovitt (CENTURY 21 North Homes Realty, Inc.) almost 8 years ago

John - Impressive addition.  I'm sure that buyers will be impressed :  )

Posted by John Mulkey, Housing Guru (TheHousingGuru.com) almost 8 years ago

I was in a house the other day that had a fort very similiar to it.

Posted by Gene Allen, Realty Consultant for Cary Real Estate (Fathom Realty) almost 8 years ago

John - this is classic. My Company wwas recently called in by a BUYER to walk the new house with his wife (as the Interior Designer) while the inspection was taking place. I (YES, ME) found a 1" gap between a bathroom floor and the wall it was supposed to be connected to.....  it was later discovered that an entire "great room" addition including a wet bar and full bath that had been built out over a 3 car garage was NOT PERMITTED in ANY step of the process.  Although it "looked" nice, the garage had not been reinforced to carry the additional weight load and the foundation was essentially now giving way.  This WAS a $2M home!  ... Guess that "great room" wasn't so great after all. 

Posted by Connie Tebyani, Platinum Home Staging, Los Angeles and Ventura County (Platinum Home Staging, Inc. : RESA-Pro) almost 8 years ago

Have addition laughed at, then torn down by a qualified contractor.

Posted by Troy Pappas, Virginia Beach Home Inspector (Safe House Property Inspections) almost 8 years ago

Man that's just bad John. I have seen better built chicken coops!

The mad Chicken Says.

Cant keep my hens in that shack, Jack!

Posted by David Salvato (David Home Inspection Service Home Inspector San Bernardino) almost 8 years ago

Ah-ha, a mother-in-law addition!

Posted by Karen Staha, CRS, GRI, ABR, REALTOR, Austin & Surrounding Areas Texas (Gaston & Sheehan Realty) almost 8 years ago

Window is up pretty high does it have aloft? I was called on a staging job that had leaning detached garage and the seller thought it was not a problem. Nor was the fence that was falling or the basement that was crumbling. All she knew was the house across the street sold for top dollar, I looked it was beautiful.She thought since they got good money for theirs she should for hers. OOOOOOK Well let's sit down and talk about a contractor........

Have fun SELLING!!!

Posted by Debby Langford, Garfield-Western Slope Home Stager (Altitude Designs Home Staging of Colorado) almost 8 years ago

Participate